Welcome to the science fiction/fantasy books written by lawrence p. white


Looking for classic style science fiction? Adventure? Characters with whom you can identify and call friend? Romance? 

Test the waters with Spirit of Empire, a science fiction/fantasy series of five full-length novels


The Alliance, a new 3-book science fiction series.

Both series are complete, so binge reading is possible!


About the Spirit of Empire Series

The Empire, hundreds of thousands of civilizations scattered across the galaxy, has been subtly invaded by the Chessori, diminutive creatures who wield a powerful mind weapon. When they strike, the war is lost before anyone knows it began. The hierarchy of the Empire is wiped out, and though legions of military forces remain, they cannot function against the terrible mind weapon.

Ellandra of the Chosen, the youngest and last surviving leader of the Empire, flees across the galaxy hounded by the Chessori. Her last chance is an emerging world called Earth. The setting is today - Earth knows nothing about galactic empires and is only sending rockets into nearby space.

Michael Carver, a man of Earth, comes to her rescue. In the process he discovers that he, and by inference everyone else on Earth, is immune to the Chessori mind weapon. First Contact is made, but Earth is a long way from becoming the willing partner needed by the Empire.

Join Ellandra and Mike in a quest to restore the Empire to its former glory. Share in their successes and failures as they struggle first to survive, then to lead, and finally to spearhead the Empire’s battle against the Chessori. Along the way, you will meet some new friends:

  • Otis, a Great Cat. The most lethal Protector in the Empire, he is much more than just a warrior.
  • Jake, a Rider. An intelligent, alien mass of protoplasm. His species would, if a price could be put on a person, be the single most valuable commodity in the galaxy. But Riders cannot live on their own - they must reside within a host body. When Jake's host dies, Mike is the only host available.
  • George, a nearly sentient Artificial Intelligence. Pilots join with him on the 'net' to fly the ship. George does all the work, and the pilots do all the thinking, at least at first. 
  • Krys, a Seer. Seer's are the stuff of legend, and the Empire has not seen a Seer within living memory. She is young and her skills weak, but there is no one from whom she can learn. When she receives a vision of Ellandra in mortal danger, she must act, but what can she do? She is just an orphan. She will, in time, become one of the truly Great Ones of Empire.
  • Val, a one-legged beggar. In answering the call of a dying Knight, he is forced to give all that he is. His future will never be the same.
  • Stven, a Rress, one of the most ancient and revered civilizations among the Empire. It just so happens that the Ress are dragons.
  • M'Sada, a Schect. His species is respected throughout the fleet as tacticians despite of the fact that they resemble a four-foot long sausage with 10 legs, mandibles, and multi-faceted eyes.

You will experience great battles through the eyes of the lowest soldier, through the eyes of ship’s captains, and through the eyes of the top admirals and generals, but you will be right there as our heroes struggle to learn statesmanship as well.

More about the Spirit of Empire Series






About the Alliance Series


Greg Hamilton is just an ordinary guy. Well . . . not completely ordinary. He had been an elite special operations soldier before getting blown up and medically discharged from the service. 

Years later, he innocently gets caught up in First and Second Contact when he encounters two UFO's battling it out in the skies over Canada. He rescues a badly injured woman, Arlynn, who is the sole survivor of the engagement. Through her, Greg learns that her people, the An’Atee, have lived in peace for so long that they no longer have—or need—a military. 

The An’Atee have secretly been studying Earth, a violent civilization whom they cannot even remotely understand. 

One violent civilization is more than enough challenge, but they recently encountered another star-faring civilization, the Harbok. Not only have the Harbok refused to communicate with the An’Atee, they shoot on sight. 

Greg, sick of the horrors of war, is nevertheless coerced into helping Arlynn return to her people. In the process, he learns that the An’Atee not only have no idea how to fight, with only a few exceptions they cannot even bring themselves to harm another sentient being.  They are desperately attempting to arm themselves against the Harbok, but they are failing miserably.

Though not an expert on space travel, Greg is, compared to the An’Atee, an expert on tactics. In desperation, they ask for his guidance.

Should he help them?

He only has their word about events, so how can he know who the good guys are and who the bad guys are? The Harbok have clearly been on Earth for some time and have not, so far as he can tell, harmed anyone. 

He likes the An'Atee, and he wants to help them defend themselves, but his conscience demands that he learn the Harbok's side of things before deciding.

More About The Alliance Series




About the Author

Larry hard at work in retirement

Larry hard at work in retirement

I grew up hoping to be an astronaut, but less than perfect vision put that goal out of reach. Instead, I joined the army after high school and flew some 600 combat missions in Vietnam as a Forward Air Controller. After discharge, I went to college, then stayed with the private side of commercial aviation. 

My career as a pilot spanned 49 years, a time during which I managed to cover most of this wonderful globe that we call Planet Earth. I’ve met people from many walks of life, and I have to say that I enjoy nearly all of them when I take religion and politics out of conversations. 

Because of the variety of people I’ve met, treating aliens as people requires only a slight extension of imagination.

I began writing seriously in 1986. My English teachers would be horrified if they knew what I was doing. I was not a great student since I spent most of my time staring out the window at blue skies, clouds, and airplanes. In light of the grammatical and spelling errors in my books – errors that you’ve found and not hesitated to bring to my attention – I’m sure many of you believe those teachers were right. Still, I thank them for cramming what they could into my thick head. I take complete responsibility for the rest. 

As for what comes next, I am working on Book 6 of the Spirit of Empire series. I told my readers that Book 5 finished that series, but they decided otherwise and did not hesitate to let me know they wanted more. So, Book 6 is about half done as of Christmas 2018, but the story is nowhere near complete and it’s already the size of a standard novel. Since my books sort of write themselves—they take me along for the ride just as they do you—I won’t know where this will end up until I reach the end of the tale. It’s possible that it will turn into a new spinoff series.

I am releasing an all-new, shorter series of three books early in 2019 entitled The Alliance. Not a spinoff of Spirit of Empire, it is still space opera that spans the galaxy.

Thank you all for your patience and loyalty. A special thanks to those of you who send emails. I enjoy getting them, whether they’re good news or bad, and I always respond.

Contact the Author

Drop me a line!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Where to Buy

All my books are sold exclusively on Amazon.com. They are available as ebooks and paperbacks. The first book of the series, Last of the Chosen, is available as an audio book.

Go to Amazon.com